Helmet Cover for Team Wendy ballistic Helmet

Hi guys, just bought the soldier-story-ss115-ctru-assault-team Team wendy Helmet. I want to use it for a TSSN alpha recce bash. Cause its black i was looking for a way to give it a more woodsy kinda look without airbrushing it. while i was looking at helmet covers on google i found this.
image image

I would like to try myself in replicating this in 1/6. while i have no experience working with fabrics i would appriciate any kind of help. I was thinking about the multicam printed fabric from spoonflower.com or just an olive version. But im afraid i dont know what fabric is able to be cutted without fraying to much and propably has a proportion of stretch within.

Thanks in advance

4 Likes

Thought about something like this

4 Likes

Lately I’ve been thinking of making a few custom helmet covers as well for my DEVGRU bashes. I just need to know where I can get materials in the proper scale

I have used Spoonflower material (various camo prints including multicam). Overall very happy. Used material for helmet covers/battle belt/scarf/wrap around rifle.

Negative I found: camo print only on one side, underneath is plain white material. Have painted underneath area (acrylic paint applied with brush or airbrush gun). Kinda worked - paint can darken the camo print & material can become stiff. You get about 2cm of plain material around the test sheet print, I use this to test my paint/water mix to reduce bleeding & general reaction to my paint application.

Have tried folding material over to make strips. Used super glue which was really stupid it bleed through and made material really ridged. If anyone could recommend a better option please let me know.

Overall very happy with spoonflower primts - recommend them.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback, how was your experience about fraying and what fabric you used? Cause i think i can use only one layer if i want to cut ist out like on the pictures…